June 19, 2009

  • Tonight I celebrated my 20th birthday in more depth by having a dinner party with friends at Bar Louie.  Joel, Eric, Ariel, Starla and her boyfriend, Ashlei, and Andrew K. all showed up and we ordered drinks and food.  I offered to pay for everyone’s drinks, but instead Ashlei was nice enough to pay for my meal =)  I tried to not let her though, ROFL.  I was hoping that I could pay for everyone’s drinks this year so that next year, when I’m 21, I could cash in those good-karma points and have my friends pay for my drinks all night long =D  We had an excellent time though, and I’m glad that we ended up going there because they kept playing all the music that I like listening to in my spare time anyways.  I heard a couple of Jack Johnson songs, all of which I really like, and there was even some Red Hot Chili Peppers in there somewhere.  I really wish I had taken pictures, but I was so overwhelmed with happiness that I was too much in shock to remember doing that.  I’m so fortunate to have so many great friends. 

    It’s funny, I chose Bar Louie because I had heard that they served big and delicious slices of cake that are intended for two people.  And, my Facebook event page for the event was themed off of a videogame called “Portal”, where the running gag is that the player is constantly reminded that there will be cake at the end of the game, but it turns out that “the cake was a lie.”  Check out the event page here.  It turns out that Bar Louie was out of cake, the cake was a lie, so they brough me a cut-up fudge brownie with ice cream on top of it instead.  Later I was still hungry, since I expected to be full off of cake, so I ordered a steak quesedilla.  I’m a big-time steak quesedilla fan, but this one was pretty terrible.  I had to eat it with a fork because it was falling apart, and overall it just didnt taste very good, I should have just gotten a cheese one instead.

    I had asked for my friends to bring their Nintendo DS’s so that we could play them while we ate, and they did so it was good fun.  Our selection of multiplayer games was lacking unfortunately, but I did get to gloat as I pwned everyone at Tetris DS.  Afterwards, I thanked everyone for coming and I ended up chilling over at Andrew’s place for a bit and watching Dancing With The Stars, which one of Andrew’s childhood friends is currently participating in.  He advanced to the next round, and he danced very well, he deserved it.

    Currently I’m in the Ugli working on physics for the night.  I want to get ahead on my work because our final exam is next Friday and I plan on being super-prepared to dominate that exam.  He also assigned us some extra credit so I’m hoping to burn through some of that for some extra points. 

    Take care everyone, and never forget that it is the quality of your friends that counts, not the quantity.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *