June 9, 2009

  • Internet Safety and You

    The ability to see all traffic that is coming to and from my blog is one of my favorite features of Xanga.  It’s the very first thing I check everytime I log on.  I read that John (CEO of Xanga) was worried that Footprints may have impeded some traffic on Xanga, and I’ve seen a petition where people want Footprints to be removed completely, but the Xanga Team absolutely MUST KEEP THIS FEATURE because everyone should have at LEAST some sort of idea of who’s looking at what on their website.  Just think, if you were able to see that someone was stalking your website, wouldnt you want to know so that you could prevent anything bad from happening before it does? 

    This simple convenience of privacy is something that Facebook gets an F- in, you have some flexibility for privacy but you cant actually see who’s been viewing your profile, when, and how often.  Livejournal fares no better, I can easily view someone’s private entries no-sweat.  Not so with Xanga, this is such a robust website with plenty of tools to monitor your blog’s traffic, it’s fantastic.  Xanga is THE place to be if you’re going to blog because of your ability to monitor traffic.  Footprints is a great feature, if you’ve ever used that, but to be on the safe side what I personally use and recommend for everyone out there is to also install the Suhock Anti-Stalker module  http://suhock.net/xanga/logs/index.php  It works best with the old private homepage though, it lists all of your most recent viewers and is incredibly convenient.  Then it’s just one click away from an even more detailed view, where you can see who’ve visited your blog, which outside link they used (such as if they found you through Google, or a message board where you posted a link, or Facebook where you put your blog in your profile which is kind of a dumb idea and I especially dont recommend ANYONE do). 

    It also shows the IP Address of the visitor, which for those of you who arent aware, every internet connection has one of these so when you’re surfing the internet other websites see that you’re surfing the site from that IP Address.  It’s like a thumbprint, they’re all unique.  I’m not 100% on whether that’s technically correct, so dont quote me, the point was to give you an idea.  So what you can do is copy that IP address and take it to http://www.ip-adress.com/ip_tracer/ and plug that number in and if someone visited your website and they werent logged into Xanga you could still get an idea of where they are located so you’ll know if it’s a local person or just another random scammer in Nigeria. 

    I use both the Suhock anti-stalker module and Xanga’s Footprints because often I find that one picks up something that the other one doesnt, or sometimes Suhock will fail for short periods of time.  I recently had an email exchange with a woman on Craigslist, she lives one town away and is a few years older than me, we never actually met or did anything more than just emailing, but with my email address she was able to find my current Xanga, as well as my previous Xanga, and she stayed up late every night that week reading through all 4 years worth of my blog content.  I know this because these two IP-tracing tools kept track of every hour and minute of her activity on my blog.  Needless to say, I wont be talking to her again.

    I urge anyone reading this, male or female, to buy themselves some sort of protection and keep it on them at all times.
    A GUN.
    You CANT AFFORD NOT TO HAVE IT.  You CAN’T ALWAYS TELL who’s messed up in the head.  And be EXTRA CAREFUL about people who you meet online.  It’s not like “To Catch a Predator” where everyone who they show on TV is a memorable creepy character that you would spot on the street and be able to say “wow, I can tell that guy’s a pedophile”, there’s plenty of normal guys that they chose not to air on that show simply because it wouldnt attract as many ratings as the wierd-o’s. 

    I’m not saying that meeting people on Xanga is a no-no, not at all.  If you’ve been talking with someone for a while, and you both feel comfortable, go ahead and go through with it!  There’s a ton of great people on this site, I’ve met plenty of folks through here and it was always chill.  But don’t just go charging into Craigslist, posting personal ads and responding to all of them without a second thought.  Not smart.  Trust me, it’s just better to go out in real life and meet people who you know already get some sun and fresh air and hang out with other real-life friends who do the same thing and spend their time doing normal activities.  I hear about other peoples’ creepy Craigslist encounters all of the time, and I worry about what could have happened had they not been prepared to handle the situation.

    Be safe everyone.

Comments (50)

  • Please recommend this if you think your subscribers would benefit from this article.

  • great post….. thanks for sharing :)

  • Xanga spy, which was a program that monitored xanga, gave you others screen names and IPs.
    I liked using back in the day, xanga sniping.
    plus, I obviously put things on xanga i dont want people on facebook to see, or even attempt to search for on the net, because chix google other guys names a lot. I wish I was kidding you.
    If you look up “Gerald Washington” in google right now, you’ll probably see my listing in APPA. thats it, and that’s how I like it.

  • I use Google analytics. It’s even more in depth for the things footprints don’t tell you. I agree you need to be careful though because you may never know who will find you. You could have a future employer reading an old posts from years ago that may no longer apply. They could find an angry rant, or a *gasp* pro-marijuana post ;)
    A business competitor could be reading your posts about work finding small bits on information on your company if you are the type to blog about that subject.
    A straight up craigslist creeper like you already had.

    Bottom line is, the internet is a very public place and whatever you put out there can always be found again if you’re good enough, despite deletion.
    Best practice more than anything is just really think about what you post before you do.

  • I like footprints too. It’s interesting to see how many people from around the world look at your site.

  • ahh I just use footprints. but that lady from Craigslist? creepy!

  • Hi Mike.
    This is good advice and I hope more people see this. I tried to add the anti stalker but it didn’t work though. I couldn’t get it to load onto the browser. Anyways, good post. It should wake people up and remind them about the pit falls and down side to the interwebz.

    Stevie T

  • great post. good info. i’m a big fan of the footprints feature too. i have a friend who went through and read every last one of my blog entries because she thought I was dead (long story) and at first I was weirded out because my site had about a thousand hits from Pennsylvania… ah well, it’s all worked out now.

  • There’s gonna be loons on every site, but Craigslist seems to be notorious for it.
    Good blog.

  • Got to your site from your Plugz, or whatever that is. Nice tips and it’s so true. Be wary of the creeps out there.

  • Thanks for the advice, I wasn’t what footprints was for. (I just started xanga)
    So I really appreciate this :]

  • Did you read it for English 315, or a women’s lit class? You might like “College Girl”, then .

  • i love footpints, they are a nice feature

  • How do you get footprints to show IP addresses?

  • @QuantumStorm - 

    They dont, but Suhock does.

  • Ooer.
    Kinda thinking about getting the Suhock thinger. xD
    I like Footprints :D

  • Being a brand new Xanga user, It’s nice knowing that at least some stalker in Uganda is stepping on my page. Makes me feel like less of a n00b. So yes, Footprints=necessary.

  • i agree with you totally- my favourite feature of xanga has to be the footprints, not just so much for the stalker bit, but if im going to write about my life, i want to know who’s reading it and how often. besides which, it fascinates me and is rather interesting.

  • I definately agree that footprints should stay, that is one of the reasons I kept xanga when everyone left is because of privacy. Also, you like DDR, that makes you amazing :D Cheers my friends.

  • That’s just plain creepy- so now that I just looked at your profile you practically know everything about me and can use that information to begin stalking me?! No offense- but it goes both ways.

  • @Lynnjynh9315 - 

    All I know via not visiting your blog is a general vicinity of where you live, enough to give me a vague idea, and I know what parts of MY blog you’ve visited. However, by YOU visiting MY page, you now know what school I go to, what town I live in, my real name, what music I listen to, what my AIM screenname is, a few of my common interests (check out the above commenter for proof, how else would she know I was a fan of DDR. Not via the anti-stalker module). So if anything, it does go both ways a little bit, but I’m still the more vulnerable party until I visit your blog to scoop up more info. And you could use the Footprint information in court if anyone who you did notice start stalking you started interfering with your personal life, which is better evidence than having nothing at all. If you had friends-lock on, I wouldnt be able to check out your page after you checked out mine.

  • @cApNhOwDy - 

    Do I really know all that stuff… are you sure? Or perhaps what I should be asking is: how do you know I know? Or perhaps: How do you know that I could know all these things about you that you say I know but, honestly, I have no clue to??

  • @cApNhOwDy - 

    … … … okay- now I know all that about you. } What am I going to do with it??

    IDK… you want to play Halo sometime?? (Joking- my XboxLive membership is toast….)

  • @Lynnjynh9315 - 

    I’d tell you, it’s very simple unfortunately, but that would kinda defeat the purpose of me making this entry, which is to inform the unaware population about their right to privacy and information, as well as give tips to combatting stalkers.

  • Too many spys spying on us – crazy

  • Hey, I saw that you are in the blogring “Marijuana legalize it”. I created a post about the truth on pot, and disproved some myths and stuff, you should read it, and comment, and recommend it if you like it. I have read some statements from some people that just say idiotic untruthful things about pot, and I want to get the truth around. Thanks!

  • removing footprints would be a dumb idea. i’m not sure why people would be paranoid and care about who knows they visited someone’s site. eh.

  • I don’t understand the fear of people reading public web-pages. If you don’t want people to read it, why do you put it on the internet? Use friends-lock if you’re worried about it. Or better yet, buy a journal.

  • @radicalramblings - 

    I want people to read mine, but I dont want people to center their lives around it or me. I imagine most other folks feel the same way.

  • Personally, I like the Digsby widget along side with footprints. It allows people to contact me through my messenger strait from my page without a screenname or anything. Amongst that, it allows me to combine all of my accounts (MSN, AIM, Facebook, Myspace, Google Talk, ICQ, Yahoo, Twitter, etc) and gives me updates without even visiting the pages. Plus when anyone visits my page it gives me their IP

  • lol!! i recommend this post!! PEPPER SPRAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! haha

  • Great informative post! Thanks for writing it.

  • if someone read my blog they’d get an awful lot of nothing about me really. :l

  • I support more moderation and security, so I agree.

  • Great information. I agree with you about everything. Except pepper spray. I recommend using something with a bit more stopping power.

    Beretta 9mm for women and a .357 for men.

  • @bryangoodrich - 

    I think you missed the point.

  • @SwordAndSacrifice - 

    I agree, props! Hit ‘em where it hurts!

  • Plus, if people don’t want their footprints to show, they can use that setting that says to browse without footprints. Of course we can block people who do that, but everyone has the ability to customize how all this works, which IS one of the great things about Xanga. I just think Xanga could do a better job of showing new users how to set it all up. I am not allowed to have my last name or where I go to school on here, AND my dad is one of my friends . I’m not even supposed to have pictures of myself but I hid them :-p. But that is what we have to have in order to make sure creepy people cannot act on their creepiness. Very good post and advice.

  • thankyou very much, this was helpful. :) but one thing, everything you listed about suhock (save IP addresses) sounds the same as footprints to me. e.g. the country they’re in, how they got to your page… etc. so how come suhock is better?

  • @OhItWontBeForever - 

    You just said it yourself. Footprints doesnt log the IP address, which is CRUCIAL if you’re going to want to provide evidence in court if you ever needed to (let’s just assume that stalker murdered you). Footprints only tells you the name of the state, it wont tell you what city or what house the person is visiting your website from. Besides, like I already mentioned, Suhock oftentimes picks up what Footprints misses. Footprints doesnt keep track of people who opted to be hidden from Footprints, you arent opting out of Suhock by choosing to not appear on others Footprints.

  • thankyou for the explanation! i understand, now. :D i never really understood how IP addresses worked. it makes sense, now.

  • i clicked your suhock link, but it said as part of the process, you have to go to the “look and feel” page, but i dunno where that is. could you tell me, please?

  • @OhItWontBeForever - 

    It’s on the old private homepage. I assume you’re using the new private homepage, there should be a small link on there near the top somewhere that says “back to the old private page”, and that’ll take you to the old private homepage. After installing it, if you still prefer the new homepage, you can still check and see who’s viewed your webpage by entering your username at the bottom of the Suhock website.

  • thanks! i’ll do that

  • @cApNhOwDy - Please thank me for reading this blog comment. It is a pleasure sharing my opinions with you.

  • Hey, mike i want your opinion on my lastest work “hopeless-ness?” please tell me what you think

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *